Skip to main content

What’s a Tax Treaty?

  • A Tax Treaty is an agreement between the United States and other countries. Currently there are approximately 66 different tax treaties in effect. Some of the tax treaties allow a student/researcher/scholar to receive income in the US without it being taxed by the federal government. There are several limitations on this benefit such as the amount of money received, the time you receive the money, your length of stay in the US, your visa status, the status in which you entered the US and others